Day 12 – Speaking your Partner’s Love Language

30-Day Couples Challenge

“We assume others show love the same way we do – and if they don’t, we worry it’s not there.”

Amy Przeworski

Show Video Transcript

Yesterday we focused on meta emotions and today we will focus on Love Languages.

Learning the ways another shows love is important in being able to effectively identify the intent behind words and behaviors.

If you speak a different love language, there is increased risk for miscommunication and misunderstanding.

The five love languages are Acts of Service, Physical Touch, Quality Time, Gift Giving, and Words of Affirmation.

Just as we learn how to speak English from our parents and those that surround our environment during our developmental years, so too is the same way we learn to speak love.

If love was shown by your father by working long hours to take care of your family financially, but your spouse’s father showed love by giving hugs and kisses and snuggling them before bed with a book.

You can imagine the two of you will come to understand love in very different ways.

How we understand love is often how we choose to show it.

Your task is to identify your love language and try to guess your partner’s. Talk with one another on how you came to this conclusion.

Click to watch the video and download this PDF to access your task for the day.

Give us a call at 330-673-5812 for more information on how our trained couples therapists can help you speak your partner’s love language!